photo female military

About Me

Hello and welcome!  I’m Erin!
Proud Miami of Oklahoma Tribal Member
I’m a 31 year old Navy sister, Army wife Air Force wife to a prior service Marine/Soldier, and an Air Force Reservist.  I was born and raised in Southern California, having grown up in Huntington Beach.  I always feel the need to qualify that statement, when I tell people that I’m from Orange County.  I didn’t have the sort of lifestyle that you see on Real Housewives.  My family lived modestly, but we always had what we needed.  I didn’t (and still don’t) identify with the beach/surfer lifestyle of HB, so I sometimes tell people that I’m from Tustin, where DH and I made our first home together.
I am a Motherless Daughter, a term coined by Daisypath Anniversary tickers
I met DH at a country bar, back in California.  Men who can dance are always sure winners with women, and he was no exception.  I can honestly say that it wasn’t the uniform that attracted me to him, since he had completed his service in the Marine Corps before I met him.  Anyone who has loved a Marine knows that there’s just something about them.  I only wish I could’ve seen him in his heyday.  We fell in love fast and hard, and knew we had to be together.  I truly grew up (at the age of 25) and became an adult after meeting him, for which I am eternally grateful.  I began to appreciate the little things and finally took control and responsibility for my life.
One of our first pictures as couple.
DH worked construction and on cooling towers before finally deciding to return to active duty military service with the Army, who would write waivers for his previous medical discharge.  We had a good, solid year and a half before he went off to BCT at Fort Leonard Wood.  We knew we wanted to get married after he finished training, so we purchased our wedding rings before he left. After not seeing him in ten weeks, I drove to Missouri with my future father-in-law, to see my groom and get hitched!  We were married outside of the local county courthouse.  We only had our parents and his battle buddy there, and a wedding cake from Walmart.  I couldn’t have asked for more.
Motoring around Seoul!

After he finished his tour in Korea, he came home for (you guessed it!) two weeks and then left for Fort Bragg.  I stayed behind in California to finish off the year of teaching that I’d just begun.  I went out to Fayetteville as much as I could, as he deployed six months after arriving there.  I wasn’t there for the send-off, and I’m thankful for that.  I had said my goodbyes earlier and I don’t know how I would’ve handled seeing him go.  I hated seeing him pull out of our drive towards North Carolina, let alone Afghanistan.  After finishing off my school year, I PCSed to Fort Bragg and moved into the home we’d been maintaining since he left.  I spent the summer unpacking and preparing for his R&R.  I started up my new job in North Carolina and welcomed him home (for good) that spring.  

Credits to the Fayetteville Observer

With an ETS date looming in the future, DH and I decided he would join the Air Force Reserve out in Colorado, where I have family and where I’d always wanted to live.  When school ended, I drove to Colorado to start my new career out here.  DH changed up the ballgame and decided to stick with the Army, joining the Reserves with the promise of a promotion and a bonus.  He finally joined me two and a half months later, when he finally “mustered out,” as my grandma calls it.
It’s funny how quickly time passes and things change.  In April of 2012, DH switched branches and joined me in the Air Force Reserve.  We look forward to a future of dual military service!

Leave a Reply